CLOSED: Volunteer Training, Schlitz Audubon Center, Milwaukee; begins September 5, 2017

Schlitz Audubon Nature Center will provide training about the natural history of Wisconsin through classroom instruction, field experience and two off-site field trips.   Learn more about the Wisconsin Master Naturalist Program, a statewide effort to promote awareness, understanding and stewardship of Wisconsin's natural resources. Learn more about the Volunteer Training Course requirements.

Schedule: Tuesday and Thursday evenings, Sept. 5-Oct. 12, with two mandatory field trips: Sat., Sept. 23 and Sat., Oct. 7.

Tuesday, September 5 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Thursday, September 7 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Tuesday, September 12 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Thursday, September 14 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Thursday, September 21 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Saturday, September 23 | 9:00am-4:30pm (field trip)

Tuesday, September 26 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Thursday, September 28 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Thursday, October 5 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Saturday, October 7 | 9:00am-4:30pm (field trip)

Tuesday, October 10 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Thursday, October 12 | 5:30pm-8:00pm

Fee: $250 includes all class materials and a one-year membership with the Natural Resources Foundation of Wisconsin.  

Location: Schlitz Audubon Nature Center, 1111 E. Brown Deer Rd., Milwaukee, WI  53217

Questions?: info@wimasternaturalist.org

PLEASE NOTE - Course participants that want to be certified Master Naturalist Volunteers will be required to:

  • Attend at least 90% of classroom time and all field study.
  • Participate in field trips, even in inclement weather.
    • Some travel in personal vehicles may be necessary to reach field trip locations.
    • Some field trips may involve some moderate activity on uneven terrain. Please consult with the program office (info@wimasternaturalist.org) before registering if you have concerns.
  • Complete a capstone project during the course.

Registration

  • Registration deadline is August 24, 2017.
  • Course capacity:  20
  • Course cancellation policies:
    • If a registrant cancels his/her registration for this course prior to August 18, 2017, s/he will receive a full refund less a $25 administrative fee. No refund will be made if a registrant cancels after the course deadline (8/24/17).
    • The Wisconsin Master Naturalist Program reserves the right to cancel a course if fewer than 10 people register by the registration deadline. If the program cancels the course, all registrants will receive a full refund.

Course Dates: 

Monday, December 31, 2018 - 5:30pm

Instructor: 

Don Quintenz, Tom Finley, Michelle Allison, Corinne Palmer, Cassie Rincon